Why Coconut Oil?

 

I’m sure we’ve all heard about the Coconut Oil phenomenon. Being that I have a keen interest in natural skin care products, I obviously had to try it myself.


I’ve been a loyal Coconut Oil user for the past year, and let me tell you, it definitely is not over rated. It lives up to the hype I promise you and here’s why.


Hair

First of all, it’s great for the hair. I have used it as a conditioner. All you have to do is apply it right before you wash it and leave it in for 30min-hour, even longer if you’d like.  You then rinse it out with shampoo and since its very greasy, rinsing it out with some vinegar after shampooing helps remove the residue. All you need is about ¼ cup of vinegar mixed with the water. Doing this really moisturizes the hair. It makes it look and feel very healthy. The oil is filled with vitamins E, K and Iron and also gives it a natural sheen so your hair will look nice and glossy.  Now I am obviously no expert but I’m combining my experience with some research.


Your Skin

Not only do I use it for my hair but also it does wonders to my skin. Coconut oil works as a moisturizer that replenishes the skin’s natural oils. I apply it either right before I go to sleep or right before I apply my makeup and it gives me a natural glow. I do not recommend those who have oily skin to use it much because it can cause outbreaks.

 It can also be used as a lip balm by nourishing the cracks and flakes. It’s still oil so it does dry out fast. But if you want to make your own natural lip balm, it would help to mix the coconut oil with something thick like beeswax or cocoa butter. 

According to Marie Claire, you can use it as highlighter after you’ve applied your makeup. Apply it to your cheeks and it will enhance your skins pigments.


Now here are some other simple uses:

·      Eye makeup remover, just use a soft cloth and it wipes it right off

·      Helps prevent stretch marks

·      Works as a tropical massage oil

·      Apply directly on the perineum to help heal after birth

·      Diaper cream (just rub on baby’s bottom)

·      Mix it with apple cider vinegar as a natural treatment for lice that actually works

·      Blend a tablespoon into hot tea to help speed recovery from cold or flu

·      Works as a natural shaving cream and aftershave lotion

·      Mix with salt to remove dry skin on feet


That’s it for now lovelies! Till next time ❤

Leave a Reply

